Super Easy DIY “Washi” or deco (decorative) tape Tutorial

Okay, so I saw some tutorials on doing your own washi tape or deco tape, on YouTube, and I loved the idea, but no one had a good way to make it have the peel off backing, nor did they have an easy way to store the tape.  So I thought, why not spread the tape out on waxed or parchment paper to decorate it, then leave it on there, cutting off each strip and either rolling it up or folding it up?  So I tried it!  And I figured I’d snap some pics so I could do a simple tute on it, too.

Image

What you’ll need:

Parchment paper (or waxed, though I don’t have any right now and haven’t tried it yet)

Masking tape

Acrylic paint

That’s it!  You can use whatever mixed media stuff you want to, to decorate the tapes.  I used Gloss Enamel craft paint, which I love, metallic acrylic paint that I don’t have the pkg for so don’t know the name of, but it’s cheap, and on one I smearked dark brown Inktense Block.  This is such an unfussy project with what I think are pretty spectacular results that you could sit your kid(s) down and have them make you some!

Here are some pictures.  I just laid out parchment paper the width of the workspace I had available. 

Image

I have two kinds of masking tape, a blue painter’s tape that stuck too much to be useful for that, and a regular masking tape from the dollar store.  I stuck down long strips of tape, leaving about oh…3/4 inch between them for messiness and cutting them out after.  (I had painted two strips with gold and copper metallic before I snapped the pic…too fun to stop.)  Oh, and I’ve seen packages of parchment paper at the dollar store lately!  You could totally do this whole project from there.  They have parchment paper, acrylic paints, and masking tape.  Anyway…

Then I painted.  Splotchy, messy, improv, just had fun.  You could do anything you wanted, and you’d still get cool tape.  I didn’t do anything precise, that’s for sure, but you could.  You could stamp words, phrases, delicate designs, be as precise as you want…or you could splash paint everywhere, like me.  Here’s what I ended up with, just messing around:

Image

Then after it dried, I cut between each piece of tape, leaving it on the parchment paper.  I rolled three of them and I folded three of them (and three others still weren’t dry when I did this), then secured both types with paperclips. 

Image

Some people’s storage works with the rolls, but I’ll probably just keep folded ones in ziploc bags, like everything else in my life.  The tape comes off the parchment SUPER easy, and it sticks to the paper just as great as it ever did.  Success.

That’s all there is to it!  Have fun!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Tutorials

Leave a Reply

