New acrylic paintings!

I went on a painting spree!  I did all of these over the last four days.  I am really finding that for me, I MUST let the painting create itself.  If I try to control the process, I don’t enjoy either the process or the product as much.  If I just make each stroke as it channels through me, what results is alive and wonderful, in my opinion.  I did two paintings the first way, one that is representational, a painting of our view here at the house we will be leaving in a month to move back to Boise.  I’m not that pleased with it, but I’m glad I did it so I’ll take a piece of what was good about this place with me when I move:

16 x 20 acrylic on canvas board.

This second one I did for my 13-yr-old daughter in her favorite colors, so it was half-controlled and half-spontaneous.  I like it more, and my partner says I may have to do another for Ivy because she wants this on the wall in the living area instead.  🙂

Next are 3 12 x 16 paintings done on canvas board.  All of these paintings were done with my new Daler-Rowney System 3 Heavy Body Acrylics, which I just used for the first time, and I love them very much.  I also much prefer working with anything but brushes.

This one is done in thin glazes scraped on with an old credit card:

This one is done with various palette knives:

It is entitled, “Move,” and is my favorite work I’ve done so far.

This one is done with a combo of the credit card and palette knives:

This is the kind of painting that makes me feel like I just can’t wait to get into the studio.  I did these three abstracts all on the same day, and the coastal scene and the one for Ivy on a different day.

I did a fourth abstract after these three that I tried to control, and it turned to crap.  So I used my (becoming most beloved) old credit card to scrape it down and then used some watered down paint mixed with glaze squirted out of a bottle with a tiny tip to do some painting over the resulting underlayer.  It looked really fabulous but a bit unintentionally gruesome.  So I tried to calm it down and it turned to crap again.

Lesson learned:  let the painting be what it will be.

I scraped everything off and put gesso over the whole thing and will start again, letting my intuition drive once more.

8 Comments

Filed under Acrylic, Paintings

8 responses to “New acrylic paintings!

  1. Peggy

    OMG!!! I just love that first paining that you did for your daughter? The one in all the blues? Oh how I wish I could get one similar for my studio space. Oh how I love blues!!!!

    • Satina Scott

      Peggy, thank you! But the blues are the coastal scene, and the swirly magenta-red and yellow one is the one for my daughter. 🙂 Blues are my favorite, too. If you want a blue painting, I can certainly discuss doing a commission for you. 🙂

  2. Lynn Beauchamp

    the red one is freakin awesome Satina! I do love the blue one, but the red made my heart jump joyously!

  3. Pingback: Painting Tips | OOO-LaLA!

Leave a Reply

