Faces 6, 7, and 8 – Sorry they’re late!

Yes, I had to make it rhyme.  But seriously, I am sorry, and not because I think your day will be ruined if you don’t get another Satina-face, but because I know I get annoyed when someone is in a daily thing and you go to their link each day and then there’s nothing.  I confess, I hate that.  But there is this thing, often a real pain-in-the-butt distraction from fun, called Life.  And mine got weird over the last two days.  There’s also a thing called laziness.  But anyway…I did actually DO some faces, nonetheless.  I just didn’t post them.  I sort of did, because there were faces on some of the 10-second Scribble Sketches, but I didn’t categorize them as such, so if you followed the 29 Faces tag, you got nuthin’.  Sorry about that.  I shall endeavor to be much more consistent.

And with that intention, I hereby catch up by posting faces 6, 7, and today’s face, 8.  I really did do these faces on their correct dates, even!

Face 6 is many faces, actually.  10-second scribble sketch faces that appeared in my scribbles.  These are my favorites (and all that would fit on my Faces journal page):

 

They were actually drawn on my beloved Hammermill cover stock and then cut out and glued into the journal.

Then yesterday, I did one more special request for a very precious rat-loving friend of mine.  I did about 10 scribbles to get just the right one for him to appear out of:

 

He’s called, “Ratboy.”  He’s dedicated to Tiffany, but he’s also a little present for all ratgirls.  You know who you are.  xoxo

Then this morning, I tried a technique inspired by Leslie Herger at Comfortable Shoes Studio, also the owner of http://artjournaling.ning.com, that she calls, “automatic drawing.”  I did a continuous line drawing, starting at an eye, and let a face happen without lifting the pen from the page, then I filled it in with watercolor.  I.  Love.  This.  OMG it was so fun.  I may just make a whole new little journal and fill it with these today, I don’t know.  I couldn’t believe how much fun it is, though.  Thank you, Leslie (comfortableshoesstud on youtube) for introducing me to this:

 

My face shading was also inspired by Crafty Moira who runs the Weekly Art Date.  Both Leslie and Moira are currently doing a face a day, and I love their interesting and unique creations.

I really love all of the inspiration I’m getting from the fabulous chicks in the mixed media art community.  My art is more interesting and I’m having a better time because of them.  And I’m making some very neato friends.

I’m blessed.  🙂

7 Comments

Filed under 29 Faces in 29 Days

7 responses to “Faces 6, 7, and 8 – Sorry they’re late!

  1. I love one line faces! We did a lot of them when I took Carla Sonheim’s 101 Faces online class. I haven’t done one in a while. Maybe I’ll do one for tomorrow. See? You’ve inspired me.

  2. Peggy

    We did this kind of thing years ago when I was in grade school. The teacher gave us a bunch of scribbles on a sheet of paper, and we had to draw pictures out of them. I loved it!

    Blessings,

    Peggy

  3. 🙂 I’m glad that my videos inspired you and with such great results!

  4. I love all of your faces – well done!

  5. I too love all your faces and I AM GUILTY of posting my faces late…late at night. Most days I haven’t gotten to the paper until well after dinner…still got kids here! Yikes! My baby is a young man of 17 … need I say more? Lol…
    I am trying to have fun with this project…

    • Satina Scott

      If you’re just posting at night, just post that face as the next day’s face, no problem! I feel bad because I have been so busy I haven’t gotten to the other blogs. I gotta do some major catching up!

  6. They look like fun! Have to try that some time …

Leave a Reply

