10 Second Scribble Sketches

This is so fun!  It’s an exercise from Carla Sonheim’s book, “Drawing Lab:  52 Creative Exercises to Make Drawing Fun!”  And they do!  In this one, you take a pen and make a quick, 1-second scribble.  Then you look at it to see what you see in it, then you add as few lines and marks as necessary to bring out your picture, then you add color!  For this one, I had Shan do the scribbles and I did the drawing.

Here is the before:

(Click on images to see it bigger)

And here is the after:

And here is our favorite of all of them:

“Snake in an apron with coffee”

And here is our second favorite, which is upside down in the image above:

“Fox”

I’m low energy, low motivation today after doing my morning face, so this was a great way to keep my pen moving on the paper.  I’ll definitely do some of these in my Sketchbook, and I thought it might be fun for you to see them, too.  🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Drawings

4 responses to “10 Second Scribble Sketches

  1. Kel

    ha ha – snake in an apron with coffee – love it
    doodle art is my favourite fun and great for when inspiration or energy is low
    here’s one i did earlier: http://xfacta.blogspot.com.au/2011/10/big-doodle.html

  2. Pingback: Wreck This Journal: Scribble wildly using borrowed pens « xlalalalisax

Leave a Reply

