My hand-carved personal shaman symbol relief stamp

Today is a very powerful day for me.  I took a chance and posted something I was fearful of sharing due to the negative response I thought I might get.  Instead, I have found new friends and so much support and outpouring of personal truth as a result of it.  I have decided to commemorate today with a symbol.

I am a born shaman and was talking with another shaman about our shaman names, and she showed me a symbol she carves on her tools, and I thought I would like to do something like that.  With what happened today, I thought it was a good day to do it.  I used a fine point ballpoint pen, dollar store craft foam, a watercolor pencil, and the paper in my Canson journal.  Incidentally, the paper in the Canson does not erase well.  Now we all know.

So, anyway, here is my result:

My shaman name is Earth Hands, by the way.

I think I will work up a little free tutorial on how to do this, since it’s so simple and shows such wonderful results, and post it over on artjournaling.ning.com in the workshop group!

7 Comments

Filed under Artsy-Craftsy Misc.

7 responses to “My hand-carved personal shaman symbol relief stamp

  1. Your sylbol is enormously powerful! And, I LOVE your shaman name! How did it come to you>? Was it “given ” though initiation? Through dreams? Did you create it? Inquiring minds want to know
    Blessings
    Doree
    § :~D)>o

  2. Satina Scott

    Thank you Doree! I did a little bit of study with another shaman, and part of that was to have her journey for me, and she said this was the name she was given for me. It resonated deeply for me. I designed the symbol myself today. 🙂

  3. Love, love, love your POWERFUL symbol! Please get that tutorial up soon… I’ve always wanted to carve a stamp, but been afraid to. What you have done is wonderful!

  4. Satina Scott

    I’ll work on it tonight, Chris! You won’t believe how easy it is. 🙂

  5. Wow kindred spirit you touched my heart with your comments. I am old, fat and beautiful.

  6. Satina Scott

    And you, Maryann, have touched mine with your comment. Thank you.

  7. Thank you for your blog.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

Leave a Reply

