2 New Paintings!

My word for the year is FEARLESS (in all caps).  For a couple of days now I’ve been feeling fearful of painting again, and it was making me very frustrated, until I woke up this morning and HAD to paint.  So I painted this on a canvas board, 11 x 14, in Soho acrylics.  I bought them in a starter set to try, and this is the first time I’ve used them.  I don’t like them for my painting style.  They’re not viscous enough for me.  I like the paint almost sticky, and I like it to dry fast.  These are more creamy and dry slowly, so they blend more than I’d like.  We’ve been caught in a storm with LOUD, 80 mile per hour winds for two days, and this is what resulted:

“Eye of the Storm”

Then, after that, I decided to paint an abstract for the cover of my new (old, altered) art journal, which is an old hardback book:

I think the Soho acrylics will lend themselves to art journaling just fine.

I HEART palette knives.  HEART.  THEM.

18 Comments

Filed under Acrylic, Paintings, Watercolor

18 responses to “2 New Paintings!

  1. I really like eye of the storm, and your journal cover. Beautiful colors and movement. Happy PPF!

  2. Love the storm painting, it really captures the feeling. The journal cover looks like one of those great urban walls with years and years of old posters and paint built up on it.

  3. beautiful abstracts, wonderful colours.

  4. I love the Eye of the Storm painting!

  5. Kel

    everything about this work, your blog and its subtitle, is resonating deeply

    grateful to have connected

  6. Beautiful colors. I especially like the Eye of the Storm.

  7. Love your work. Eye of The Storm is just awesome. Beautiful colours. Thanks for sharing.

  8. The power of color – that is what you have harnessed here! The Eye of the Storm has the dark swirl of a storm & the color on the book cover is just happiness!

  9. Wonderful rhythm and movement and texture!
    FEARLESS is a great word for the year, too! 🙂 Especially when it is in all caps! 🙂

    Happy PPF!!
    Mary
    Mixed-Media Map Art

  10. Wow! Great swirling energy and color ~ love them! ~ namaste, carol (Share the Creative Journey) Happy PPF

  11. These are gorgeous! Wonderful colors and amazing shapes and movement.

    Fearless is a perfect word. Although I’m not choosing just one word this year, it’s a good one for me to keep in mind. I am often stopped by fear in various aspects of my art. I need to let go of this.

    Thanks for the inspiration!! Happy PPF!

  12. mandy

    wow…first one is so good…so foreboding…is that the word…great work on the cover too…bright and cheery…xxx

  13. Goodness, I am loving what you’ve done. What a great word, and I think you tackled this week fearlessly! I can really feel the mood in the storm painting. Great great job!!!

  14. EVA

    Two great paintings – “Eye of the Storm” sure suits the first!

    Great word of the year!

  15. Great paintings, very energetic and expressive! ❤

  16. Satina Scott

    Thank you thank you thank you all so much. You all help me, so much, to be as FEARLESS as I want to be.

  17. I heart your two works!
    Continue your FEARLESS path in creating your art!
    Belated Happy PPF!
    Sheri Cook/HappyHorseStudio

Leave a Reply

