The Fall/Transformation

This is a new spread in my journal called “The Fall/Transformation.” It is mixed media and the process of its creation was very, very spontaneous.  It is done in a Strathmore Watercolor Journal, size about 5 x 8 inches.

For some reason, wordpress reversed the order of the images uploaded, so the closeup of the tarot card is first, then the two pages individually, then the spread.  I’ll get better at this posting thing, promise.

Anyway, this started with a couple of magazine clippings I liked and stuck on two pages, totally unrelated. The foreign money in the bottom left corner and the big butterfly watercolor collage on the right page. Then I used some Pentel oil pastels and watercolor around the money, then added some acrylic gold glaze craft paint, then a funky tarot card from a deck I got at the Dollar Store, then made a stamp of acrylic craft paint and some rubbings done in colored pencil of some fake plastic pirate coins I had and glued those on, then I took an old necklace and cut up the chain and glued and stapled it on, and took some red plastic gems off the ugliest earrings in the world and glued those on. Then I saw how the unrelated butterfly on the next page could relate! So I painted black acryclic all around it, added in harmonious colors of other craft paint, then added paint and glaze on the clipping itself to blend it in.

This is my VERY FIRST mixed media piece ever and it was soooo much fun! I just took advice from a book I read that said stick something down, then just build! I like it!

6 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages, Mixed Media, Paintings

6 responses to “The Fall/Transformation

  1. Hi Satina, It’s it’s teri from BAJ. I’m so impressed with your spontaneous flow of creativity on these pages!! What a wonderful entry you have made into the mixed media world. Keep up the terrific work!

  2. Satina

    Thank you so much, Teri!

  3. jane4745

    Enjoyed your work. I think you have really done well.

  4. wonderful pages, if this is your fist venture into mixed media I’m seriously impressed! Enjoy exploring!

  5. Lisa Cousineau

    You did a fabulous job with this! Hard to believe this is your first page, you’re a natural!

  6. Satina

    Wow, thank you all so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

